Watch this space… magic about to happen, shortly

My story starts with a tiny meltdown.  For almost a year I have been juggling work, studying, trying to get a promotion and in between times, attempting to maintain a good marriage and bring up two gorgeous kids.  I thought I was doing ok.  Everyone thought I was doing amazingly well given all I had taken on.  But I felt a mild sense of dissatisfaction growing in me.  I should have accomplished more, I should be earning more, I should at least have figured out what I want to do with my life by now.   I knew that, compared to so many other people, I was very lucky and so felt guilty about wanting more.

My crazy full life was knackering me and the frustration of not knowing what I wanted to do was becoming unbearable.  I just couldn’t see a way forward and finally I had to concede that I couldn’t take on the world when I had no idea what I wanted to do with it.  I took to my bed for a couple of days to get over another bout of lurgy and committed to putting all the pieces back together, conceding that I had let myself become a self-absorbed twit.

Then I had an argument with my husband and, just wanting to get out of the house, I escaped uptown, bought a magazine (which I rarely do) and went to sit in the gardens.  Now I have always had a strong feeling that things happen for a reason, even if I have to look really, really hard to find it, and that argument was a blessing in disguise.  An article in that magazine gave me the start I needed to set off on my journey to figure out what I want to do, not just with my job, but with my life.  That’s the day I began my mission to become a free range human (definition: http://www.free-range-humans.com/freerangehumans/).

Ok, I’ve realised that you may be thinking I’ve got it all sussed out and now have an extraordinary life as the title of my blog suggests but, sorry to disappoint you, that couldn’t be further from the truth.  In many respects I do have an extraordinary life but in terms of how I earn a living, I plan on using this blog to work that out.  I’m taking a very small first step in posting this, trying to overcome the crushing embarrassing factor that I’m opening up here and very probably no one is listening, but if you are, I invite you to come on the journey with me.

I have ideas.  I want to write kids’ books.  The kind that adults want to read too.  But I get the feeling that that’s not the whole story and I’m itching to work out what’s next for me.

Leave a Reply

